Beethoven Cello Sonatas for Violoncello and Pianoforte Urtext Edition sh-327$32.95
Scholarship has advanced, new sources have come to light and the renowned Beethoven expert Jonathan Del Mar has turned his attention to the centrally important works in the cello œuvre, the five Beethoven Sonatas for Violoncello and Piano.

Jonathan Del Mar’s scholarly-critical edition not only contains the definitive music text, but also the first critical commentary to these works.

- First Critical Commentary ever to the sonatas

- All known sources consulted including the printer's proofs to op. 69

- Large format (24.3 x 31 cm)

“For Someone who does not want a completely clean copy of the sonatas, this is the perfect version – as close as possible to Beethoven’s own intentions but with fingering and bowing ideas to aid with preparation.” (MMA Ensemble, January 2009)

”Cellists, pianists, and Beethoven-lovers everywhere have been eagerly awaiting an authoritative version of these sonatas for far too long; now we will have an edition that promises to remain THE standard text for the foreseeable future.”

(Steven Isserlis)

„Jonathan Del Mar has laboured heroically to present Bärenreiter’s new edition of the complete sonatas for cello and piano by Beethoven – and no praise can do justice to this towering achievement.“

(Music Teacher June 2005)

”Anyone who is serious about performing the Beethoven Sonatas will wants this new edition.“

(Strings January 2005)

“Any cellist who loves these renowned works will gain tremendous enjoyment from mulling over this though-provoking volume.”

(ESTA “News & Views” winter 2004)

Introduction Preface Sonata in F major op. 5 no. 1 / Sonate in F op. 5 Nr. 1: Adagio sostenuto - Allegro; Rondo. Allegro vivace Sonata in G minor op. 5 no. 2 / Sonate in g op. 5 Nr. 2: Adagio sestenuto e espressivo - Allegro molto piu tosto presto; Rondo. Allegro Sonata in A major op. 69 / Sonate in A op. 69: Allegro ma non tanto; Scherzo. Allegro molto; Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace Sonata in C major op. 102 no. 1 / Sonate in C op. 102 Nr. 1: Andante - Allegro vivace; Adagio - Tempo d'Andante - Allegro vivace Sonata in D major op. 102 no. 2 / Sonate in D op. 102 Nr. 2: Allegro con brio; Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto; Allegro fugato Facsimiles Signs and conventions